I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

127 Resolution No. (LS)

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

Wig 2.1 H in UI hill com Relative To Recognizing Youth Year 2008 "Youth: Give A Peace!" Piece For And Commending the Student Representatives of Trinity Christian School for Chairing the Youth Central Planning Committee in Promoting Programs through the Department of Youth Affairs.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN 1 GUÅHAN: 2

WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs (DYA) was established in 3 1978 to assist Guam's youths under court jurisdiction through rehabilitation 4 and treatment programs in an effort to reduce recidivism and guide them 5 6 back into the community as better citizens; and

7 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs initiated 'Youth Month', known today as 'Youth Year', to support various schools island wide in 8 9 promoting programs geared towards adolescents and young adults; and

10 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs plans, coordinates, and implements programs, services and activities aimed at youth development, 11 12 rehabilitation and involvement in our community and

WHEREAS, this year, student representatives from *Trinity Christian* School had the honor of chairing the Youth Central Planning Committee through the
Department of Youth Affairs; and now therefore be it

WHEREAS, the Youth Central Planning Committee consists of student 4 representatives from the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I. Johnston 5 Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School, 6 7 DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School, Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, Father Duenas Memorial School, 8 George Washington High School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam Community 9 10 College, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, Inarajan Middle School, John F. Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. 11 12 Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High School, Oceanview Middle School, Pacific Christian Academy, San Vicente School, Santa Barbara School, 13 Simon A. Sanchez High School, Southern High School, St. Anthony School, St. 14 15 Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul Christian School, Temple Christian School, 16 University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the Twenty-sixth (26th) Guam Youth Congress, all of whom have been contributing to activities 17 such as the Youth Spirit Wave, Proclamation Signing, Oratorical Contest, 18 19 Student Exchange Program, Talent Showcase, and Island Leadership Day; and 20 WHEREAS, the Department of Youth Affairs strongly supports its

employees, all of whom go above and beyond to construct positive attitudesamong our youth; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan*, recognize
'Youth: Give a Piece for Peace' and supports the efforts of the Department of
Youth Affairs to support our island's youth; and be it further

4 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan also 5 recognize the student advisors, parents, and student representatives of their respective schools, namely the Academy of Our Lady of Guam, Agueda I. 6 Johnston Middle School, Andersen Middle School, Bishop Baumgartner 7 Memorial School, DODEA Guam High School, DODEA South Middle School, 8 9 Evangelical Christian Academy, F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School, George Washington High School, Guam Adventist Academy, Guam Community 10 College, Guam International Christian Academy, Harvest Christian Academy, 11 12 Inarajan Middle School, John F. Kennedy High School, Jose Rios Middle 13 School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High School, Oceanview Middle School, Pacific Christian Academy, San Vicente 14 School, Santa Barbara School, Simon A. Sanchez High School, Southern High 15 School, St. Anthony School, St. Francis School, St. John's School, St. Paul 16 17 Christian School, Temple Christian School, Trinity Christian School, University of Guam, Vicente A. Benavente Middle School, and the Twenty-18 sixth (26th) Guam Youth Congress, for their contributions to the "Youth: Give 19 20 a Piece for Peace'; and now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Christopher M. Duenas, Director, Department of Youth Affairs; to Mr. Pascual V. Artero, Program Coordinator III, Department

of Youth Affairs; to Ms. Rebecca J. Respicio, Program Coordinator II, 1 Department of Youth Affairs; to Youth Central Planning Committee, to the 2 3 principals of Academy of Our Lady of Guam; Agueda I. Johnston Middle School; Andersen Middle School; Bishop Baumgartner Memorial School; 4 DODEA Guam High School; DODEA South Middle School; Evangelical 5 6 Christian Academy; F.B. Leon Guerrero Middle School; George Washington High School; Guam Adventist Academy; Guam Community College; Guam 7 8 International Christian Academy; Harvest Christian Academy; Inarajan 9 Middle School; John F. Kennedy High School; Jose Rios Middle School, L.P. Untalan Middle School, Mt. Carmel School, Notre Dame High School; 10 11 Oceanview Middle School; Pacific Christian Academy; San Vicente School; 12 Santa Barbara School; Simon A. Sanchez High School; Southern High School; 13 St. Anthony School; St. Francis School; St. John's School; St. Paul Christian School; Temple Christian School; Trinity Christian School; University of 14 Guam; Vicente A. Benavente Middle School; and to the Twenty-sixth (26th) 15 16 Guam Youth Congress; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen 17 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NALIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THIS _____ DAY OF MARCH ___2008.

Ray Tenorio Acting Speaker Jesse A. Lujan Senator and Secretary of the Legislature